• Are you looking for a coupon code to buy my software? You can get one from lots of 3rd party sites but they won't work. My software never goes on sale and has never been discounted. The only coupon codes that are given is when I give a club presentation and I offer a discount to the attendees. Other than that, everyone pays the same price.

How do you center closed segment rings

F

Fish30114

I recently ordered the longworth chuck from Woodturner Pro, and the question I have, is how do you glue together/center closed rings to make say a bowl. I understand how I would center one ring, but how do I glue up subsequent rings, and keep them centered?? I have been feeling my way along, and do not have someone close by to teach me--so excuse my ignorance, but I'm a 58 year old rookie!

Here’s what I did , I started by setting up a base with a plate chuck or the nova chuck then use the longworth on the tail stock put the ring on the longworth and clamp with the tail stock by cranking tight and let it dry long enough to add another, it’s not exact but it’s better than stacking, by the way I’m a 58 old coger myself lol

I will usually mark the previous row with the centre of the segment edge length in four positions ( 0, 90, 180, 270 degrees) and then make sure they line up with the mitre line of the next ring. It is also important to keep the staggering going straight as well so each row stays lined all the way through the project. Sometimes by simply rotating the next ring to a different position can help get more exact.

Blurr60, how do you mount the longworth onto a 2MT to mount into your tailstock. Mine has a hole in the center of it, I haven't measured it but it seems like it's around 7/8" so I just don't know how to mount the Longworth with that hole to a 2MT taper to put it into my tailstock...