• Are you looking for a coupon code to buy my software? You can get one from lots of 3rd party sites but they won't work. My software never goes on sale and has never been discounted. The only coupon codes that are given is when I give a club presentation and I offer a discount to the attendees. Other than that, everyone pays the same price.

Glueing and constructing the segmented ring.

scott kolodin

PRO Member
I just joined and I'm new to segmented bowls. I have a couple of questions that I would like to ask. What is the best way to handle the excess glue on the segments after it dries. Using a hand sander, busing a circular stationary bench sander or hand sanding? Second, when gluing the segments together, should you cover each side of each segment with a film of glue or just use the glue sparingly on one or both sides. I use wax paper to help keep things clean but I find it sticks to the wood a glue and it hard to remove without taking sandpaper to it. Thanks for any advise to a newbie bowl segmenter,

- I wipe off the excess glue with a damp rag before it dries. This reduces the amount that has to removed after the glue dries.
- If the glue is excessive you can scrape off the glue before sanding.
- To get the rest of the glue off I run them through a drum sander doing very light passes. Glue can tend to gum up the sandpaper.

- There are many ways to glue segments together. Some glue up segments in pairs, some glue up all the segments at once for the ring using a clamp.
- In gluing pairs, I tend to put glue on one segment, take the second segment and rub the two together to spread the glue, squeeze the two segments together once they are aligned,
In glue pairs it is good to build half rings and then check how the two halves fit. When there is a gap the two halves ends can be sanded on a disk sander to eliminate the gap and a perfect fit.