• Are you looking for a coupon code to buy my software? You can get one from lots of 3rd party sites but they won't work. My software never goes on sale and has never been discounted. The only coupon codes that are given is when I give a club presentation and I offer a discount to the attendees. Other than that, everyone pays the same price.

New to segmented turning in Bismarck, ND

Don Fillenworth

PRO Member
Hello everybody! I'm just getting started in segmented wood turning, and I'm excited about the new hobby. My main interest is small turnings such as Christmas ornaments, since I have a mini lathe. I am just now placing an order for the software and hardware to get started. I'll need an indoor hobby during the long snowy winters.

Welcome to WTP forum.
Warning segmented building and turning is addictive. But that is ok, we are all addicts here.:)

Hope you find the forum a good source of information. Post your questions, help with answers and use the gallery to share some of your work.

Hi, glad you joined us. I think the Woodturner Pro suite can't be beat but Lloyd has written an entire new program Segmented Pro. This is probably the best one for a new segmenter. Be sure and view the tutorials and also take a look at Jerry Bennett's Seg Easy sled and wedgies. You can see the plans for the sled and wedgies here: http://www.segeasy.com/segeasy.htm . Above all ask questions and have fun.

Welcome Don,
Great bunch of people here with tons of knowledge on segmented turning. Feel free to ask any question, sometimes even the smallest hint or suggestion can make a world of difference. As Stuart has said the wedgie sled is the way to go, takes a lot of frustration out of cutting segments. You are embarking on a great adventure my friend enjoy it all even the failures, and there will be some ask anyone here. Get ready to spend untold hours in the shop because you forgot to look at the clock.