• Are you looking for a coupon code to buy my software? You can get one from lots of 3rd party sites but they won't work. My software never goes on sale and has never been discounted. The only coupon codes that are given is when I give a club presentation and I offer a discount to the attendees. Other than that, everyone pays the same price.

Steve Ruff

S

Steven Ruffin

Hi,
I am new to the forum. I've been turning for about 15 years off and on. Do a lot of segmented lamps, some hollow forms and segmented bowls. Nothing overly fancy. Been thinking about the woodturner pro software. Is this software user friendly for a guy with little trigonometry, only basic math skills. I've been doing segmented work for several years the hard way. Youknow, ruler, compass, draw the whole thing, time consuming. I could use some help deciding whether to purchase the software. Any help given will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks, Steve Ruff

Hi Steve. The short answer is yes the software is user friendly. Like any software you need to play around with it to find how it works but don't spend a lot of time trying to figure out something if it's now working the way you want. Ask your question here and someone will be able to help. I use usually start off with Design Pro and then over to WP to tweak the final. You can easily create custom wood using a .jpg. I do normally export the print to .cvs and save it as an Open Office spread sheet that can be sorted and color coded but that isn't necessary.

Down load the free trial copies and play with them for a bit. I find 3D Design Pro to be the hardest but with all the sample designs it's rare that any changes need to be made. Lloyd has some very good tutorials listed on the front page so be sure and check them out.

Stuart

Hi Steve, and welcome to the Woodturner PRO community!

If you like making segmented lamps, you should take a look at the lamps that one of our users from Finland makes. Here is a link to his member gallery: